JPK 1030

IRC Racing

How, under the IRC rules, can we further improve the performance of our Racing range without the performance-rating compromise becoming less favourable?

The only possibility for Jacques Valer, our designer, is to accept a loss of versatility on the full crew and three-mark-course in order to improve the performance in solo and double-handed sailing, with an adjustment of priorities. An early planing, great power when reaching and more generally a real ease in all points of sail: this is the formula of the JPK 1030.

Lighter, narrower on deck, more tension in the keel line, more volume in the forward sections than its predecessor, designed to run heeled with a reasonable wetted surface and not requiring too much surface area in the sails ... the concept is ambitious, but it's what's needed to perform in all race formats!

The genius of Jacques Valer and the many months spent on the design of this very elaborate hull should enable us to extend our line of champions.

Naval architect J. Valer

  • LOA 10,34 m
  • LWL 9,06 m
  • BOA 3,24 m
  • Displacement 3,7 t
  • Volvo engine 20 cv
  • Keel 1,5 t
  • Draft 1,98 m
  • Main 35 m²
  • Genoa 26 m²
  • Asy spinnaker 105 m²
  • Symetric spinnaker 95 m²

After four solo and double-handed Transquadras and many miles sailed offshore, the JPK 1030 is really the perfect boat I had in mind to perform and have fun. It's a real " scooter " that allows you to push hard on the boat in complete safety for a maximum of pleasure.

Jean-Pierre Kelbert

How did the 1030 come to be?

by JP Kelbert

The hull of the JPK 1030 was born on the return from the 2018 Transquadra, after my second place on the JPK 1080 against the Beepox 990 skippered by Alex Ozon.

On the one hand, a boat of 10 meters by 3 wide and 2.5 t of displacement, on the other hand a boat of 10.80 meters by 3.50 wide for 4.8t.

As 90% of the Transquadra is sailed downwind, a good VMG boat is of course ideal for winning. From this point of view, the Beepox was the perfect boat to plan early and to keep high averages above 18-20 knots, which was the case on the first and second leg of this edition. Obviously, this very typical boat is not very efficient upwind (especially in breeze) and cruelly lacks power on certain courses.

From this observation, I asked Jacques Valer to design a boat capable of planing a bit earlier than a JPK 1010 (4 times winner of the Transquadra) or a JPK 1080, but also of gaining power on the reaching, while remaining efficient upwind.
Here again, Jacques' work was not easy; several versions were made, including a very "scow" version, which was judged too typical. The rating increases very quickly when the boat is lightened or powered, so there is very little margin for manoeuvre in order to maintain versatility and save the rating in most conditions... especially when faced with boats such as the JPK 1010, which is ultra-versatile and has an interesting age allegiance!

The JPK 1030 is therefore relatively narrow, with very full forward sections and a smaller hull cavity for a more tensioned hull slope. When heeling, the hull is also well tensioned to favour heeled boat planning.
The 300 litre ballast tanks compensate for the rather light straight keel. They are useful starting from 10/12 knots of wind upwind, but also when reaching in a breeze.

On the water, the boat is exactly where we expected it to be, super efficient on the reach, planing, but also very efficient upwind from 10 knots of wind, when below this threshold you have to accept to increase the rating by an extra surface in light airs.
The results over two seasons speak for themselves and there is still plenty of room for improvement, particularly in terms of sail configuration and design.

Made of Airex / glass / vynilester sandwich, the deck, hull and all accommodation structures are made under vacuum by infusion.

The draping plan and the choice of the different layers of fabric make it possible to optimise the weight, with substantial reinforcements in the areas subject to stress and very light structures at the top of the shell and on the deck.

The IRC favors a type of keel known as "flat", without a bulb. The centre of gravity (CG) of this type of keel is therefore higher and requires more powerful hull sections.

The large surface area of the center of efforts allows the profiles to engage very quickly, even at low speeds.

Our keel is a cast iron-lead combination with a sophisticated construction made by the Lemer foundry. The inner insert and the GS cast iron flange provide a lot of rigidity to the assembly and allow to keep a thin profile until the base of the hull.

The insert is then placed in an outer profile mould at the foundry for the casting of the lead.

On each boat, the sole is laser aligned with a moulding in the bottom of the hull before being fixed.

The keel profiles are jigged and the epoxy coatings are "shimmed" before painting.

In the event of a heel strike, the long, recessed sole distributes the load over all the struts and the lead absorbs the energy of the impact.

Despite the racing-oriented programme, the interior of the JPK 1030 is bright, warm and well finished: fully compatible with a cruising programme!

The boat can be equipped with an oven, heater, pressurised hot water unit, indirect LED lighting and dimmers integrated into the counter mould.

For racing, the double watch seat and the rear seats are preferable, and an optional ball pouffe for interior and exterior comfort is available.

The boat's single and double-handed programme requires perfect dimensioning and positioning of the deckware.

Harken has been our supplier for 20 years and supports us in the preparation of bills of material.

The cockpit's ergonomics are the result of extensive work on a full-scale model during the construction of the deck mannequin. Ideal steering position to hold on to for a long time, natural manoeuvring position... comfort is a key factor in performance.

Our lastest news about the JPK 1030

Il n'y a pas d'autres postes à voir

JPK 1030

IRC Racing

Comment, dans le cadre de la jauge IRC, améliorer encore les performances de notre gamme Racing sans que le compromis performance-rating ne devienne moins favorable ?

Seule possibilité pour Jacques Valer, notre architecte : accepter de perdre un peu en polyvalence sur l’équipage complet et le parcours 3 bouées pour améliorer le rendement dans l’exercice du solo et du double, avec un ajustement des priorités. Un départ au planning précoce, une grande puissance au reaching et plus globalement une véritable aisance à toutes les allures : telle est la formule du JPK 1030.

Plus léger, plus étroit au pont, plus tendu en ligne de quille, plus gonflé dans les sections avant que son prédécesseur, dessiné pour fonctionner gîté avec une surface mouillée raisonnable et ne nécessitant pas trop de surface dans les voiles … le concept est ambitieux, mais c’est ce qu’il faut pour performer sur tous les formats de course !

Le génie de Jacques Valer et les nombreux mois consacrés au dessin de cette carène très élaborée devraient permettre de prolonger notre lignée de champions.

Architecte : J. Valer

  • Longueur 10,34 m
  • Longueur flottaison 9,06 m
  • Largeur 3,24 m
  • Poids 3,7 t
  • Moteur Volvo 20 cv
  • Lest 1,5 t
  • Tirant d'eau 1,98 m
  • G.V. 35 m²
  • Génois 26 m²
  • Spi asymétrique 105 m²
  • Spi symétrique 95 m²

Après quatre Transquadras en solo et double et beaucoup de milles parcourus au large, le JPK 1030 est vraiment le bateau parfait que j'avais en tête pour performer et m'amuser. C'est une véritable "mobylette" qui permet de pousser fort sur le bateau en toute sécurité pour un maximum de plaisir

Jean-Pierre Kelbert

Comment le 1030 est-il né ?

par JP Kelbert

La carène du JPK 1030 est née au retour de la Transquadra 2018, après ma seconde place sur le JPK 1080 face au Beepox 990 mené par Alex Ozon.

D’un côté, un bateau de 10 mètres par 3 de large et 2.5 t de déplacement, de l’autre un bateau de 10,80 mètres par 3,50 de large pour 4.8t.

La Transquadra se courant à 90% au portant abattu, un bon bateau de VMG est bien sûr l’idéal pour gagner. De ce point de vue, le Beepox était le bateau parfait pour partir très tôt au planning et tenir des moyennes élevées au-delà de 18-20 nœuds, ce qui a été le cas sur la première et la deuxième étape de cette édition. Evidemment, ce bateau très typé est peu efficace au près (surtout venté) et manque cruellement de puissance sur certains angles.

A partir de ce constat, j’ai demandé à Jacques Valer de dessiner un bateau capable de partir plus tôt au planning qu’un JPK 1010 (4 fois vainqueur de la Transquadra) ou qu’un JPK 1080, mais aussi de gagner en puissance sur le reaching, tout en restant performant au près.
Là encore, le travail de Jacques n’a pas été simple ; plusieurs modélisations ont été faites dont une version très « scow », jugée trop typée. Le rating monte très vite en allégeant ou en toilant le bateau, la marge de manœuvre est donc très étroite pour conserver de la polyvalence et pourvoir sauver le rating dans une majorité de conditions … surtout face à des bateaux tel que le JPK 1010, ultra polyvalent et profitant d’une intéressante allégeance d’âge !

Le JPK 1030 est donc relativement étroit, avec des sections avant très pleines et un creux de carène plus réduit pour une pente de voute plus tendue. A la gîte, la carène est également bien tendue afin de favoriser le planning bateau gîté.
Les ballasts de 300 litres compensent la quille droite assez légère. Ils sont utiles dès 10/12 nœuds de vent au près, mais également au reaching venté.

Sur l’eau, le bateau est exactement où nous l’attendions, super efficace au reaching, planant, mais également très efficace au près dès 10 nœuds de vent, quand en dessous de ce seuil il faut accepter de monter le rating par un surcroît de surfaces dans les petits airs.
Les résultats sur deux saisons parlent pour lui et la marge de progression reste encore forte, notamment sur les configurations et dessins des voiles.

Constitués en sandwich Airex / verre / vynilester, le pont, la coque et toutes les structures d’aménagements sont réalisés sous vide par infusion.

Le plan de drapage et le choix des différentes nappes de tissus permettent d’optimiser au mieux les masses, avec des renforts conséquents aux endroits sollicités et des structures très légères en haut de bordé et sur le pont.

L’IRC favorise un type de quille dite “plate”, sans bulbe. Le centre de gravité (CG) de ce type de quille est donc plus haut et demande des sections de coque plus puissantes.

La grande surface du plan antidérive favorise une accroche très rapide des profils qui fonctionnent également à basse vitesse.

Notre quille est un mixte fonte-plomb avec une construction sophistiquée réalisée par la fonderie Lemer. L’insert intérieur et la semelle d’encastrement en fonte GS apportent beaucoup de rigidité à l’ensemble et permettent de conserver un profil fin jusqu’à la base de la carène.

L’insert est ensuite placé, à la fonderie, dans un moule de profil extérieur pour la coulée du plomb.

Sur chaque bateau, la semelle est calée au laser avec un moulage en fond de coque avant sa fixation.

Les profils de quille sont passés au gabarit avec “calage” des enduits époxy avant peinture.

En cas de talonnage, la longue semelle encastrée répartit la charge sur l’ensemble des varangues et le plomb absorbe l’énergie du choc.

Malgré un programme orienté régate, l’intérieur du JPK 1030 reste clair, chaleureux et bien fini : tout à fait compatible avec un programme de croisière !

Il est possible d’équiper le bateau d’un four, d’un chauffage, d’un groupe d’eau chaude sous pression, d’éclairage indirects à LED et variateurs intégrés au contre-moule.

En régate, on préfèrera le double siège de veille et les bannettes de matossage arrière, et en option, un pouf à bille pour le confort intérieur et extérieur

Le programme solo et double du bateau demande un dimensionnement et un positionnement parfaits de l’accastillage.

Harken est notre fournisseur depuis 20 ans et nous accompagne dans l’établissement des nomenclatures.

L’ergonomie du cockpit est le fruit d’un long travail sur une maquette échelle 1 lors de la construction du mannequin de pont. Position de barre idéale pour tenir longtemps, postes de manœuvres naturels … le confort est un facteur clé de la performance.

Nos dernières actualités sur le JPK 1030

Il n'y a pas d'autres postes à voir