About us

A young and passionate team

We are a young and passionate team of 40 people who develop and build fast, fabulously seaworthy, functional and attractive boats.

We are based in Larmor-Plage, near Lorient, in the heart of the French Sailing Valley.

JPK Composites is :

0
employees
3500
m2 of building site
0
yachts per year

Offices & reception

Infusion and assembly

Fitting

Infusion of small parts

The history of the yard

The JPK technique

From the dream to the launch, the construction of a JPK is divided into five stages: the quotation with the client, the production of the parts of the boat in infusion, the assembly of all these parts, the fitting of all the on-board equipment (comfort, electricity, piping, deck fittings, etc.), and finally the exit from the yard.

To build quality boats, we make all the tools and composite parts in-house in our workshops in Larmor-Plage. Pre-pregs, vacuum processing, wet processing, infusion ... JPK team masters all these processes to deliver boats which win all races under IRC and provide fast and comfortable cruising.

ouvrier composites nautisme

Jean-Michel

 Jean-Mich' knows the company like the back of his hand and takes on every challenge with determination and power of work. Expert in the manufacture of models and moulds, Jean-Michel manages many things at JPK: the production teams, procurement, supplies, missions in workshop ...

Kevin

For 12 years at JPK, Kevin has been a solid technical reference in infusion. He manages his team of 15 people with the necessary exigency for the production of parts perfectly made to the right weight. He also sails at a good level, and has successfully completed a Mini-Transat project.

The JPK design

The design of JPK yachts is the result of a collaboration between Jean-Pierre Kelbert, founder and manager of the shipyard, Jacques Valer "the magician", exclusive naval architect of the shipyard since 2003, and Jean-Baptiste Dejeanty, naval architect and development manager.

JPK yachts are the result of the alchemy between Jacques' excellent hull drawings, JP's wise design and JB's valuable digital expertise.

"JB" Dejeanty

Jean-Baptiste is a naval architect and has been responsible for the development of JPK Composites since 2020. In addition to supervising production, he masters the drawing software on his fingertips and sails at a very good level (drawing and building of his 6.50 proto, Vendée globe, etc.). He supports Jacques in the drawing and design part. 

jp kelbert

"JP" Kelbert

Jean-Pierre, aka "JP", founded JPK Composites in 1992.

A windsurfing racer, then specialising in the shape of high-end funboards, he switched to the world of fast sailing in 2003 when he met the architect Jacques Valer and created the JPK 960.

Director, designer, and top runner 

Jacques Valer

Jacques is the exclusive architect for the yard and is well known for his stunning hull designs in the International Race Rules. His talent goes far beyond this and Jacques is one of the few naval architects capable of designing all types of boats, from multihulls to one-design racers, and fast cruising boats.

The yard's newsletter

Receive our latest news in your mailbox, the most important victories of our boats, our presence at nautical events, and more.

Subscribe below in two easy steps.

Le chantier

Un team jeune et passionné

Nous sommes une équipe jeune et passionnée de 40 personnes qui développent et construisent des bateaux rapides, fabuleusement marins, fonctionnels et esthétiques.

Nous sommes basés à Larmor-Plage, sur le bord de Lorient, au coeur de la Sailing Valley.

JPK Composites c'est :

0
employés
3500
m2 de chantier
0
bateaux par an

Bureaux & accueil

Infusion & assemblage

Montage

Infusion des petites pièces

L'histoire du chantier

La technique JPK

Du rêve à la mise l’eau, la construction d’un JPK se décline en cinq étapes : le devis avec le client, la réalisation des pièces du bateau en infusion, l’assemblage de toutes ces pièces, le montage de tous les équipements embarqués (confort, électricité, tuyauterie, accastillage, etc.), et enfin la sortie du chantier.

Pour construire des bateaux de qualité, nous réalisons tous les outillages et toutes les pièces composites en interne dans nos ateliers, à Larmor-Plage. Pré-imprégnés, réalisation sous vide, voie humide, infusion … les équipes JPK maîtrisent tous ces procédés pour délivrer des bateaux qui gagnent tout en IRC et garantissent des croisières rapides et confortables.

ouvrier composites nautisme

Jean-Michel

 Jean-Mich’ connait l’entreprise sur le bout des doigts et relève tous les défis avec une détermination et une puissance de travail peu commune. Expert dans la fabrication des modèles et des moules, Jean-Michel gère beaucoup de choses chez JPK : les équipes de production, les approvisionnements, les missions en atelier …

Kevin

Depuis 12 ans chez JPK, Kévin est une solide référence technique en matière d’infusion. Il gère son équipe de 15 personnes avec l’exigence nécessaire à la production de pièces parfaitement réalisées au juste poids. Il navigue également à un bon niveau, et a mené avec succès un projet Mini-Transat.

Le design JPK

Le design des bateaux JPK est issu d’une collaboration entre Jean-Pierre Kelbert, fondateur et dirigeant du chantier, Jacques Valer “le magicien”, architecte naval exclusif du chantier depuis 2003,  et Jean-Baptiste Dejeanty, architecte naval et responsable développement.

Les voiliers JPK sont le fruit de l’alchimie entre les excellents dessins de carènes de Jacques, le design éclairé de JP et la précieuse expertise numérique de JB.

"JB" Dejeanty

Jean-Baptiste est architecte Naval et responsable du développement de JPK Composites depuis 2020. En plus de superviser la production, il maîtrise les logiciels de dessin sur le bout des doigts et navigue à un très bon niveau (dessin et construction de son proto 6.50, Vendée globe, etc.). Il soutient Jacques dans la partie dessin et conception. 

jp kelbert

"JP" Kelbert

Jean-Pierre, ou “JP”, a créé JPK Composites en 1992.

Coureur en planche à voile, puis spécialisé dans le shape de funboard haut de gamme, il a basculé dans le monde de la voile rapide en 2003 en rencontrant l’architecte Jacques Valer, avec la création du JPK 960.

Dirigeant, designer, et coureur de haut niveau 

Jacques Valer

Architecte exclusif du chantier, Jacques est très connu pour ses dessins de carènes redoutables en IRC. Son talent dépasse largement ce cadre et Jacques est un des rares architectes navals capable de dessiner tous types de bateaux, du multicoque au bateau de jauge, du monotype de régate aux bateaux de croisières rapides et marins.

La newsletter du chantier

Retrouvez dans votre boîte mail nos nouveautés, les victoires marquantes de nos bateaux, notre présence aux événements du nautisme, et plus.

Abonnez-vous ci-dessous en deux étapes simples.